top of page

VICTORY


Scott Stapp - Photo Credit (All Music)

I compare my life to the life of Scott Stapp that was once lost in the world of drug abuse to rise to the top victoriously. Like Scott, I wasted many years of my life believing the lie that a musician’s life must include drugs and alcohol to be a success or to bring happiness.

Scott Stapp was the lead singer of Creed from 1993-2004 and released great hits like “What’s This Life For” “Higher” “With Arms Wide Open” and “My Sacrifice.” Creed split apart in 2004.

Scott Stapp is a native of Orlando, Florida. He began playing music in 1993 at Florida State University with friend guitarist Mark Tremonti, bassist Brian Marshall, drummer Scott Phillips, and rhythm guitarist Brian Brasher. The band’s original name was “Naked Toddler” before adopting the name “Creed.”

At the peak of Creed’s success in 2001 during their Weathered Tour, the relationships in the band started to crumble due to singer Scott Stapp, according to friend guitarist Mark Tremonti.

According to an article written by Chris Payne in billboard.com. (6/3/2016), Scott Stapp was not only battling drug abuse issues but also struggled with being Bipolar.

Scott Stapp is quoted in this article saying “I tour much differently at this stage in my career than I did in my early 20s. The partying days are behind me. That’s not really a challenge, something I’m not faced with. There’s definitely pitfalls out there and if you want to get involved in those, you can very easily find it. I can see how it can be a challenge for some, but I kind of create my own world, my own environment offstage.” (Payne, 2016, para. 2) Scott Stapp Opens Up About Battling Addiction & Bipolar Disorder

Scott Stapp’s second solo album Proof of Life released in 2013 is a compilation of songs testifying his faith in something greater than himself. Songs like “Proof of Life” “Who I Am" “Crash” and “New Day Coming.”

I spent twenty-five years of my life lost in the muck and mire of life. I’m thankful to be free to think more clearly and to accomplish my dreams without nightmares. Like Scott Stapp, I create my own world to stay on track and avoid the pitfalls of life.

Growing up in the seventies was all about free love, drugs, and rock and roll. I was introduced to marijuana at the age of eleven. I was curious to try marijuana and jumped at the chance so I could see myself turn into a monster when I looked into the mirror (smile). I got that idea from watching a movie at school when I was in sixth grade. The movie was made to help prevent kids from wanting to try marijuana. It had the opposite affect on me. The movie is called “Marijuana- A 1960’s film warning teenagers about the dangers of Marijuana.” Monster scene at 4:39.

Marijuana- A 1960's Film Warning Teenagers About the Dangers of Marijuana

I was lead to believe at that time in my life that getting high and drunk was the way to have fun. That fun also came with irresponsibility, broken relationships, rape, domestic violence, and suicidal thoughts. I have been clean for twenty-one years now and I have never felt better! This is my Proof of Life.

Scott Stapp - "Proof of Life" - Performing Acoustic

REFERENCES

Erlewine, S.T. (Unknown). Scott Stapp Biography. All Music. Retrieved September 7, 2016 from

Payne, C. (2016, June 3). Scott Stapp Opens Up About Battling Addiction & Bipolar Disorder, Possible Creed Reunion: Alt in Our Stars Podcast. Retrieved September 7, 2016 From

http://www.billboard.com/articles/columns/podcasts/7393511/scott-stapp-creed-interview- 2016-alt-in-our-stars-podcast

Erlewine, S.T. (Unknown). Scott Stapp All Music Review: Proof of Life. Retrieved September 7, 2016 From

http://www.allmusic.com/album/proof-of-life-mw0002583875

Samus Couto. (2015, June 12). Scott Stapp – “Proof of Life” Performing Acoustic [Video file]. Retrieved from

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erQnySyYV6k


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page